Previous AGMs

The 2016 AGM

This year the Society held its 54th AGM at the 4 star Dorsett Hotel on Shepherds Bush Green which was joint winner last year of our prestigious Environment Award. The event took place on Thursday 9 June and was attended by more than 75 members and guests, including local MP Andy Slaughter.

This year’s Environment Award Nominations were presented and winners announced. The awards were presented by Hammersmith and Fulham Mayor Councillor Mercy Umeh. Wooden Spoons were also awarded.

Peter Murray, Director of New London Architecture, gave an inspiring talk entitled ‘The West London Powerhouse’ which was very well received.

2016 Environment Awards
2015-16 Chairman’s Report
Accounts 2015-16
2015 AGM minutes

The 2015 AGM

Our 53rd AGM was held on Thursday 11th June, 7:30pm at the new cinema, Lyric Theatre in Lyric Square, W6.

Prior to the meeting, there was a tour of the multi-million pound Lyric workshop facilities that trains young people to become the theatre-makers of the future.

The talk was given by guest speaker Jessica Hepburn, Executive director of Lyric Theatre, ‘Hammersmith and proud: the way forward for the Lyric’


1. President’s welcome: Professor Hans Haenlein MBE
2. Annual Hammersmith Society Environment Award, Nancye Goulden Award, Conservation Award and new Special Award
– Presentations to winners by the Mayor of Hammersmith and Fulham
3. Chairman’s report and review of the past year
4. Minutes of the 2014 AGM held at Holy Innocents church, 19th June 2014
5. Hon. Treasurer’s report and accounts for 2014-15
6. Election of officers and committee
7. Questions from the floor and AOB

The AGM was followed by drinks and light refreshments.

2015 Chairman’s Report
2015 Environment Awards
New Chairman’s Remarks
Talk by Jessica Hepburn

Note: all nominations for officers and the committee to be sent to Rosemary Pettit, chairman, 45 Bradmore Park Road, W6 ODT. Email.

The 2014 AGM

Our 52nd AGM was held on Thursday 19th June 2014, 7.30pm at the Baptist Church hall in Ravenscourt Road, opposite Ravenscourt Park tube station.

Guest speaker: William Burdett-Coutts, Artistic Director of Riverside Studios.

New Secretary:

Our Secretary, Annabelle May, is standing down at the AGM after years of valuable service. As Secretary, Annabelle’s takes minutes at our six-weekly committee meetings. Do consider offering your services. Why not have a chat with me, Rosemary Pettit, about it?  Tel. 020 8846 9707.

Environment Award 2014

Every year we ask members and people who live or work in Hammersmith to nominate a new building or urban design scheme for our Environment Award, which is intended to increase awareness of the best of new design and architecture in the borough, and create pressure to improve the indifferent and mediocre. Please do let us know your favourite urban project of the last year or your nomination for the now celebrated Wooden Spoon.

The 2013 AGM

Our 51st AGM was held on Thursday 6th June at the Grove Neighbourhood Centre, 7 Bradmore Park Road, W6 0DT at 7.30pm.  The AGM is an opportunity to discuss latest developments in our urban environment, and to hear what project has won the Hammersmith Society Environment Award for this year – and the wooden spoon nominations.

50 Special Places in Hammersmith – A Pictorial Record

To coincide with its 50th anniversary in 2012, the Hammersmith Society ran a photo project in conjunction with the Hammersmith & Shepherds Bush Gazette entitled  50 Special Places. We asked what local people loved to look at as they went round the borough whether the view as you set off for work, or a favourite park view or streetscene or shopfront.

The images came in thick and fast – beautiful, interesting, sometimes quirky. The 50 selected photographs were displayed at the Society’s 50th AGM and subsequently at Hammersmith Town Hall. Click on the link below to see the photoboards which made up the display.

50 Special Places Hammersmith 2012

The 2012 AGM

The 50th AGM was held on Wednesday 23rd May 2012 at the London Corinthian Sailing Club, with a packed attendance of 100 members present including guests Vanessa Redgrave – who spoke in support of the Society’s work – and Joely Richardson,  Andy Slaughter MP and new Council Leader Nick Botterill. The meeting voted in new Chairman Rosemary Pettit and gave warm thanks to outgoing Chair Melanie Whitlock. The 50th anniversary was marked with a display of the photoproject commissioned by the Society “50 Special Places in Hammersmith” . The 2012 Hammersmith Society Awards were announced at the meeting – see Awards page for the winners.